Our newest exhibit features the fascinating history of the picturesque lakeside Village of Cayuga, once known as the Gateway to the West. Completed in 1800, the Cayuga Bridge was over a mile long, and brought stagecoaches, oxen-drawn wagons, horseback riders and soldiers across the north end of Cayuga Lake. There was a jail beneath the bridge, accessed by a trap door. There have been several industries in Cayuga, including Beacon Mills, once one of the largest food producers in the U.S. Our exhibit follows the history of the Village, from early days to the present, through many pictures, maps and stories. The Museum has a variety of exhibits, including a reproduction of an early Union Springs general Store, and a War Memorial Room, featuring our special Civil War surgeon’s uniforms and memorabilia.
Gateway to the West exhbit
- 178 Cayuga Street, Route 90
- Union Springs, NY 13160
- August 10, 2019 - October 27, 2019
- Frontenac Museum
- Recurring weekly on Sunday, Saturday